Pizza Gate

How do you cook this Pizza?!
How do you cook this Pizza?!

I spent a few years working in Student Bars in Cambridge Uni (the proper one!). They’re a clever old bunch. We’re talking A* at A-Levels, as opposed to Bs &Cs. As well as serving drinks, part of my job role was to also teach these kids important Life Skills. You know, Please and Thank you, Putting money in your hand as opposed to leaving it on the Bar. That kind of thing…

As well as being a pretty awesome Bartender, I’m also kinda useful in the Kitchen. My Cheesy Beans on Toast is a culinary masterpiece. So one day when a budding Junior Doctor…the ones who save lives…phoned the Bar asking for Cookery instructions, of course I was only too willing to help him out.

“StB, I got this fresh Pizza from Sainsburys, how do I cook it?”

A doctor remember…

“Well mate, just follow the instructions on the pack. Preheat the oven, then remove all the wrapping and pop it in the oven. About 180 degrees should be okay for 10-12 minutes.”

The lad couldn’t mess this up…

How wrong?! 15 mins later, the phone rings again. Fire Alarms going off in the background and a panicked doctor on the other end…

“what’s up mate?!”
“the Pizza caught fire, there’s smoke everywhere!!”
“What do you mean the Pizza caught fire?! You’ve only been at it for 10 mins or so!! Did you remove all the wrapping?”
“yeah, of course I did. I ain’t stupid”
“So what could catch fire then?!”
“It looks like the white plastic base has melted all over the oven!!”

Wow. That’s the future of the NHS folks. I won’t tell you which hospital he’s now at. I’m just thankful it isn’t Addenbrookes!

Published by

Steve the Barman

Fun Loving, Loud Shirts, Cuddly, Cornish, Wind Up Merchant. Owner of a Mobile Cocktail and Event Bar company... www.ThirstFirst.co.uk

Leave a comment